Yashica MG-1 + Kodak TriX 400

It’s a bit silly having cameras and not using them and, as such, I’ve decided to pick up my father’s old cameras and take them for a walk. I toke the Yashica MG-1 first.

This is no camera review. I don’t have the knowledge or the English skills for that. These are just my impressions after using it for a day.

It’s a solid and big camera. Bigger than the Yashica Minister D or my G2 but it feels pretty comfortable in my hands. I’m not the most gentle person and I do shake a lot so I like solid cameras. The rangefinder patch is hard to see sometimes and it takes a while getting used to.

The metering is pretty much straight forward. Point the camera, press the shutter half way and a yellow or red arrow will appear telling you to turn the aperture ring in the direction of the arrow. The arrow will disappear from the moment that a correct exposure can be taken. The arrows are hard to see and sometimes they appear or not… the easiest way is to point the camera, waist level, and look at the top plate. There’s also a yellow and a red light and much easier to see.

These are just some lame shots but the quality of the lens is very good, very sharp. The camera is very simple to operate and it delivers excellent results also in low light.

Please forgive my poor English.

Gear:
Yashica MG-1

Recipe:
Kodak TriX 400
TMax Dev.
1+4

7
20 º C
Agitated for 10s every minute.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

