Inspiration #1: Andreas Smaaland

I’m a huge admirer of this Norwegian photographer.
There’s something about his images that makes me feel… restless…

I’ve been trying to write something meaningful about his work, since yesterday evening, and nothing comes out. Why? Well, maybe words are really not suitable for what I want to share with you all.

I can only say one thing, Andreas work inspire me. Many times I try to “copy” his style… many times I search my memory for a Andreas Smaaland approach to a certain portrait, to a certain scene…

Andreas Smaaland style is unique and he is one of those photographers that makes me want to grab my camera and go out the door burning film or a digital sensor, because when it comes to Andreas  that makes no difference.

Gary Isaacs once said “… i am of the opinion that as many angels can fit on a pixel as on a particle of grain.”

When it comes to Andreas Smaaland I dare say that: I am of the opinion that as many little devils can fit on a pixel as on a particle of grain.

Please take a good look at his Website and enjoy.

 

4 comments
  1. incitatus101 said:

    Restless is the keyword. I had the pleasure and the privilege to shoot with the mysterious Mr. Smaaland not three weeks ago on the streets of Prague and I wasn’t disappointed. He’s an all-round crazy guy – in the best possible way. Not only does he produce the most intriguing images, he has done what so many photographers fail to do, and in such a short period of time, he has created a style which is unmistakenly his. It’s great to see him featured here.

    • Cooking Film said:

      🙂 It would be amazing to be with both of you in Prague or anywhere else in the world.

      If I’m not a total mess when it comes to picture taking it’s because I stand on the shoulders of talented people like Andreas…

      I learn a lot just by looking at your stuff guys. Truly I do. You motivate and inspire me and how can I thank you for that?

      Bowing at you and at master Andreas.

      • incitatus101 said:

        We had a blast Paulo! And, you are an extremely talented photographer my friend. It was you that inspired me to start shooting film again. I thank you for that. Keep up the good work on this blog!

      • Cooking Film said:

        You are very, very kind P.
        Thank you.

Leave a Reply

