Konica Hexar AF

Gear:
Konica Hexar AF
I’m pretty sure that this is all TriX at various ISO.

A couple on months ago I got a Fuji X100.
I was planning on using it as my day to day camera.

Taking a camera with me on my way to and from work helps me to find interesting things on my daily routine. It’s a way of keeping a creative view about things that are pretty much the same every day but in fact they are always different and there’s always something worth while taking a picture of.

The X100 is a great camera no question about that but, at the end of the day, I was not happy at all with the results. It had nothing to do with the little Fuji. It delivers great image quality, it’s small and totally silent, it has amazing features like an ND filter at the press of a button, f2.0 lens… I mean… it was perfect for what I wanted.

On the other hand I felt that something was missing. I was missing the “depth” of film. I was missing getting home and developing a couple of rolls with my son while making dinner. I was missing the medium and I was missing the process so… a dear friend came to the rescue and he knows my soft spot. And my soft spot is the Konica Hexar AF. I had the black version a while back and it became instantly my favorite camera for daily use.

My “spot” melted for good when I saw that beautiful mint Konica Hexar AF 120 years Silver Edition so… the Fuji is out, a new princess has arrived.

These were taken with the black Hexar, I’m waiting to get some Protopan film to use on the new one.

This one was taken af f2.0

This one was taken af f2.0

Untitled-6 Untitled-29 taxi spot Blá blá cadeira de rodas Dias h3 mãosdadas Untitled-35Untitled-23

16 comments
  1. Derek said:

    So you got one of those. I always wanted to try one because of the silent mode, however I haven’t been able to find one just to try or afford it yet. I see you got the special edition, does it still have the silent mode? I know the last silver ones doesn’t. Anyways black is still better! lol.

    • It is a great camera to carry around although it has it’s limitations but I do love it. It feels comfortable to use, solid and yes, the silent mode it’s really silent. Yes this edition does have the silent mode but it is the only one with auto-bracketing.
      The newer silver ones also have the silent mode, it’s just disabled. It’s simple to enable it again. 🙂

      • Derek said:

        Ahh good to know you can enable the silent mode in the silver ones, but I really don’t think I’ll go for a silver, if i have a choice, makes it harder to blend in.

      • But the damn thing is so beautiful. 😉

  2. Hi, I had the X100 but sold it because it wasn’t getting a look in after I bought the M9, it is an awesome camera though. Now the M9 isn’t getting used so much because the M6 and Contax 645 have taken over, such is the allure of film. I totally know what you mean by missing the “depth” of film, in every sense.

    Cheers, Jason.

    • The M9 is indeed an amazing camera, the files are just so rich and “embodied”, not “flat”. I think the M9 delivers pretty much the best one can get out of a 35mm digital camera. When they announced the Monochrom I thought it was nonsense but, in a way, they are after the look of film, straight out of the camera. I’ve been very impressed with the results I see of the Monochrom. Jacob Aue Sobol masters it.
      http://www.auesobol.dk/

      But… film is just a passion. The whole process is like a ritual.
      This is the poetic vision about a my hobby, but there’s no passion without a bit of poetry 🙂

      • That’s very true about the M9. I have the Monochrom also, i like the results but it’s not got the organic feel of shooting film.

        Well, the bad news is I just managed to drop my Contax 645 in to the ocean, don’t ask……..the good news is I really enjoy your blog and I’ve just added a link from my site.

        Cheers, Jason.

      • “Organic” is a word I often use when talking about film because that’s really it. I understand you very well.

        ?!? Into the ocean? Damn, I will not ask but I feel for you my friend.

        You are much too kind Jason, I don’t have the words to thank you, really I don’t.

  3. Great grab shots- I really like the 10th shot of the clasped hands.

    • They held hands all the way. Loved them and I sent them the picture 🙂

  4. Mark said:

    Lovely images. I’ve always wanted a Hexar but just can’t justify the cost. I do have a Fuji x10 which is a great little camera although in hindsight the x100 would have been better for me as I always use the camera at about 35mm anyway!

    • The Fuji X100 is a great camera Mark. My last personal digital camera was a Leica X1 and I didn’t like it at all for being so slow and not having a closer focus. I’ve been away from the digital since then but the X100 was a good surprise. The AF speed is the main complaint about it but… it all depends of how you use it. It was not a down side for me.
      The Hexar, well this is my second one and it’s an amazing camera. I was lucky enough to get a good deal from a friend. 🙂

  5. Rui Rodrigues said:

    you have made the right choice my friend

Leave a Reply

