Hasselblad 500CM + Fuji pro 400H

Gear:
Hasselblad 500CM
Zeiss 120mm Makro Planar
21mm extension tube

Recipe:
Fuji pro 400H
Shot at 800 developed at 400.

I’m not an experienced color film user in any way.
These are just experiments for future record.

I had no light, the meter was reading f3.5 at 1/125 and I also wanted to use the 21mm extension tube so I made the decision of using the 400H at 800 but developing it at 400. I know the colors would be more saturated. I’ve done this same thing with Kodak New Portra 400 and I liked the results very much.

All I can say is that pushing C-41 film one stop but still developing it at box speed is a simple process I feel comfortable with. Color film is not as forgiving as black and white but still I find pushed color negatives a good starting point for some post-production work.

Using the 21mm extension tube, no exposure compensation, I've added yellow in Photoshop.

Using the 21mm extension tube, no exposure compensation, I’ve added yellow in Photoshop.

Using the 21mm extension tube, no exposure compensation, I've added yellow in Photoshop.

Using the 21mm extension tube, no exposure compensation, I’ve added yellow in Photoshop.

Using the 21mm extension tube, no exposure compensation, I've added yellow in Photoshop.

Using the 21mm extension tube, no exposure compensation, I’ve added yellow in Photoshop.

I've added yellow overall and a bit of cyan on the clovers.

I’ve added yellow overall and a bit of cyan on the clovers.

4 comments
  1. jezzafox said:

    The developing looks fine. I’m wondering why you used a macro set up for this shoot.

    • I wanted the shortest DOF possible. There was too much skin showing and the Makro Planar does not forgive less than perfect skin. By making the DOF as shallow as possible I thought I could get a softer look.

Leave a Reply

