Contax G1 + Zeiss G28mm and G45mm + Rollei RPX 400 @ 800

Gear:
Contax G1
Zeiss G28mm
Zeiss G45mm

Recipe:
Rollei RPX 400 @ 800
Rollei RHS DC
1+7
8 min

Here are some samples of a Rollei RPX 400 shot at 800 ISO.
It’s grainy, it’s contrasted and it gives fabulous results. Looking at the images and comparing them with the results from an Ilford HP5+ at 800 ISO, I can see that the grain is much more noticeable but the Rollei has a charming feel to it which I like very much.

PS: What about the wonderful, wonderful lenses Zeiss made for the Contax G system?

Untitled-15 Untitled-17 Untitled-19 Untitled-21 Untitled-22 Untitled-26 Untitled-56 Untitled-34 Untitled-8 Untitled-10 Untitled-12 Untitled-14 Untitled-24 Untitled-25 Untitled-36 Untitled-51 Untitled-52 Untitled-54 Untitled-58 Untitled-62 Untitled-63 Untitled-66

10 comments
  1. I have to say that RPX 400 looks great at 800. I just wish it wasn’t so expensive. Oh well I suppose I will stick with Tri-X 400 and Fomapan 100.

    • Thank you Jon.
      It’s funny how things are.
      In Portugal the price of one TriX 400 is 5.50 euros. The price for two Rollei RPX 400 (they come as a twin package) is 7.00 euros, which makes 3.5 euros each. I can’t buy Fomapan in Portugal, I have to get it from Spain. 🙂

      I guess that for some things it makes a lot of difference living in the United States or in Europe.

      Thank you again for stopping by my friend.

      • Here in the US, RPX 400 costs $8.99 (6.88 €), at my usual supplier, per roll and Tri-X costs $5.49 (4.20 €). I can get rebranded Fomapan film for as low as $2.87 (2.20 €) per roll.

      • It’s too bad that the big companies like Harman/Ilford are buying the smaller guys making the prices raise.
        The guy that own the shop where I buy film told me that the RPX 100 and RPX 400 are the same as Kentemere 100 and 400. I can get Kentemere for about 1.90 euros a roll which makes it even cheaper than Rollei.
        Kentemere films are indeed great and I can’t see any difference from the RPX. Another good film are the Foma’s from Fomapan but they are made in Norway. I’m not sure if you can find them in the US.

      • Jonathan Fields said:

        We get Foma over here. One of my favorite films is Foma 100. I use it in all formats (135, 120, and 4×5). I’ve never used Kentmere; but now that I know that it is really RPX, I think I’m going to have to give it a go.

      • Yes they are the same. I’ve read it on several blogs and I did try both, the RPX 100/400 and the Kentemere 100/400 and the results are indistinguishable. Both developed with Rollei RHS DC. I don’t know if it is important but Kentemere do have DX code and the RPX don’t.

      • Jonathan Fields said:

        DX Coding isn’t important. Most, if not all, of my cameras don’t have the ability to use DX codes (most of my stuff is from the 1970’s and older, all the way back to a 1903 Kodak). Thanks for the info. Looking forward to your next post.

  2. Rufus Girard said:

    I see quite a few G1s up for sale. Always been enamored with the portability and speed of use. Do you think they are still a good bet?

    • My friend I’m in no way a camera “reviwer” 🙂
      But I’m a camera user and, as such, I will give you my honest opinion.
      After owning several G1 and G2’s I have to say that the G2 body is an excellent machine in every way. It focus faster than the G1, less noisy, the maximum speed is higher. It is indeed a step above from the G1.

      Having said that I also have to say that the Contax G1 is a great, great camera. The focus speed is not SLR fast but the G1 is not an SLR. It’s like driving a vintage car with some great updates from the modern times.
      The AF is fast enough even for street photography and you will get the moment, trust me.

      I sold my last G2 body but I still hold on to my G1. It’s a simple, fantastic modern camera that deliver amazing results. The lenses are… I’m sure you’ve read a lot about them… but they are amazing in every way.

      Some have the green label, some don’t. If you are not planning to use the 35mm lens, that can lower even more the price of a G1 body.

      I do think that the G1 is a good bet.

Leave a Reply

