Kodak TriX @ 1600 + Rollei RHS DC

Gear:
Contax G1
Zeiss G 28mm

Recipe:
Kodak TriX 400 @ 1600 ISO
Rollei RHS DC
1+9
6 min

After a couple of weeks away from Lisbon rediscovering Portugal I’m back home fully charged.

One of my visits was to the Mosteiro da Batalha, a breathtaking example of Gothic arquitecture.

Gothic it’s all about light and color but, at the same time, the sheer scale of that Mosteiro is overwelming.

This recipe is a bit out of the blue as I can’t find any time for the Rollei RHS DC and pushed TriX. Dev Chart has a starting time for the “old” Rollei RHS and Trix at 1600 ISO of 9.5 minutes. Since the RHS DC is double concentrated I’ve used the same dillution of 1+9 and reduced the dev time to 6 minutes. More or less half the time of the old RHS.

The results are grainy, very grainy. Very strong contrast and the images are clearly missing some detail. I still don’t know what to think of this combination but I like the results. The images have a density that suits very well this specific subject.

Untitled-5

Untitled-1 Untitled-8 Untitled-13 Untitled-14 Untitled-18 Untitled-20 Untitled-23 Untitled-25 Untitled-31 Untitled-33 Untitled-34

2 comments
  1. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I
    would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

    • Thank you so much! You are too kind.
      But… what to you mean by “you’ll never understand it”?
      Of course you will, I’m a pretty dumb guy myself (trust me) and I’m getting the hang of it, well, developing I mean, not photographing šŸ™‚

      What are your difficulties? Can I help? Or better, can we all help?
      If you have a specific problem with the process I can make a post on that and I’m sure you will receive amazing input.

Leave a Reply

