Ricoh Gr1s + Protopan 400 + Adox APH 09

Gear:
Ricoh Gr1s

Recipe:
Protopan 400
Adox APH 09
1+25
10 min

Thanks to the generosity of a friend I have my old Ricoh GR1s back into my hands.

It’s a beaten up camera, it’s shows on the body. It has the ever annoying viewfinder “leak” thing but… it’s still a joy to use and it still performs brilliantly in it’s own unique way.

Maybe it’s a romantic vision of things. Maybe a lens is just a lens, good or bad, nothing more.ย But I still hold on to the idea that the lens on this little Ricoh is most charming with unique features.

It’s a camera I like pointing straight at the Sun and let it have it hard. It’s a camera that deals in an amazing way with high contrast scenes. Yes the lens is very sharp, yes the Snap mode is great once getting used to but… it’s that little lens and the way it renders the light that makes all the difference.

I dare to say that the Hexar AF (my favorite compact camera) likes it gentle but the Ricoh likes it hard.

Untitled-3 Untitled-2 Untitled-5 Untitled-7 Untitled-6 Untitled-9 Untitled-10 Untitled-11 Untitled-18 Untitled-20 Untitled-19 Untitled-21 Untitled-23 Untitled-25 Untitled-24 Untitled-31 Untitled-32 Untitled-33 Untitled-34

6 comments
  1. Derek said:

    I had a GR1 before, but I think mine was faulty, rolls after rolls I could never get anything in focus the way it supposed to. I fixed the dead LCD problem though. One day i will find another one and hopefully it works better.

    • Too bad my friend. It’s a great little camera always ready for everyday use. I use the Hexar on the subway or late afternoon shots with 1600 or 3200 ISO film and I use the Ricoh for daylight with 400 ISO. It’s just a shame we can’t set the ISO manually on the Ricoh. The GR1v is the one that allows that.

      You must give it another try ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Derek said:

        Next time when I find one for under $10 I will, that will take couple years! I kept hearing good things about it, thats why I spent so many test rolls, but I guess if my electronic AF unit doesnt work right, the only way is to replace it with another one no matter how much i tinker with the unit while geting shocked from the flash capacitor ๐Ÿ˜€

      • They are indeed very overpriced cameras. We can all thank Moriyama for that ๐Ÿ™‚
        However the digital Ricoh’s which are not the most expensive cameras of their class, digital wise of course, are getting amazing reviews.

        The Gr1s I have now, it was a gift from that friend otherwise I think I would wait a while, maybe sell a camera, and get one of those digital ones.

      • Derek said:

        One day I should borrow yours lol

      • I think you should, are there any customs/border taxes (I don’t know how to say it in English) on your end if I send it to you from Portugal?

Leave a Reply

