Konica Hexar AF + Ilford HP5+ @ 3200 + Agfa R09 One Shot

Gear:
Konica Hexar AF

Recipe:
Ilford HP5+ @ 3200
Agfa R09 One Shot
1+25
18 minutes.

I have a thing for powder developers. I like using them.
Since Ilfosol 3 and Kodak TMax are more expensive than Xtol, Microphen, ID-11 or D-76, and not so flexible, I always keep several stock solutions ready to use depending on the film, ISO and the results I want. Usually Xtol and ID-11.

I’ve used Rodinal a lot but I don’t seem to get the hang of it. The same with one of the new “brothers”, the Agfa R09 One Shot. However, a couple of months ago I got 500ml of Adox APH 09 and loved it!

Comparing it with the Agfa R09 One Shot, the grain of the Adox APH 09 is tighter and more uniform, it makes a more beautiful pattern. However the Adox APH 09 has a low shelf life. I keep it stored with all my other chemicals but he started to form solid residues on the bottom.

Anyway, as always, my conclusions are to be taken with a grain of salt.

Untitled-25 Untitled-6 Untitled-8 Untitled-17 Untitled-27 Untitled-2 Untitled-3 Untitled-4 Untitled-11 Untitled-14 Untitled-29 Untitled-22 Untitled-7

2 comments
  1. David said:

    Through other posts you inspired me to finally get a bottle of APH 09. I haven’t used it yet, but expect to see something soon…

    • I hope you like it David.
      I find it less aggressive than his other brothers, the Agfa Rodina, the RD09 One Shot or the Fomadon 09.
      In fact it handles very well at 1+25 for shorter dev. times.

      If something goes wrong with you experiments I will deny this 🙂

Leave a Reply

