Fuji Klasse W

Gear:
Fuji Klasse W

Recipe:
Rollei RPX 100
Rollei RHS DC
1+15
5 minutes

I toke my first pictures with the Fuji Klasse W today and this is not a review, of course, but some thoughts about the shooting experience with it and I will try to compare it with the other compact cameras I’ve used.

Size and weight.
It stands in between the Hexar AF and the Ricoh GR1s.
Not as solid and heavy as the Hexar and not as “fragile” and light as the GR1s.
Not as big as the Hexar but much thicker than the Ricoh.

At first the Fuji Klasse W looks, weights and feels a lot like the Nikon 28Ti or the 35Ti.
But to me, and I’ve had the 28Ti and used a 35Ti a lot, the Fuji Klasse finishing and updated design makes it just perfect.

From all the compact cameras I’ve used, the Fuji Klasse is the most well designed camera. It is a joy to handle. Perfect!

Handling
Well, one thing annoyed me bit. Everytime I turn the camera “on” I have to set the flash to “off”. It does not keep that and other settings. But once I got used to that it’s almost automatic to set it off. However it’s a little annoying at first.

The most surprising about using the Klasse W was the focus and shutter.
The viewfinder is beautiful. It is the best of all compacts mentioned above. Beautiful straight framing lines, not like the terrible lines of the Ricoh or the faded lines of the Hexar or the, sometimes hard to see, lines of the 28Ti or 35Ti. It’s clear and it displays the shutter speed and a focus indication.

It is as big has the viewfinder of the Hexar AF, which is my favorite camera, but much more clear and sharp. Loved it.

Now the focus… the most surprising thing.
We all press the shutter half way to lock focus, recompose and shoot. In every single camera I’ve used this is done in the same way but a little detail on Fuji Klasse W makes it engaging to me.

It was such a surprise I had to actually think about what I was doing.
I will try to explain.
Pressing the shutter half way is a simple action done with the index finger. The shutter button does not offer any resistance while being pressed half way. The only “real” pressure we have to apply is that final tiny click. Well not on the Fuji Klasse. When we press the shutter down to get it “half way”, we feel this smooth click. It’s almost instinctive to stop the finger, the camera will then focus and pressing the shutter all the way down to take the shot offers no resistance at all.

It’s like… reversed. The click is not the “end”, it is the middle of the action.

I feel that the Fuji Klasse is not a fast camera to focus. The Hexar is much faster and the Ricoh is a bit faster. The Klasse it’s at the same level of the Nikon’s. It does have a snap mode like the Ricoh and it can be pre-focused but using it like I did today, just pointing at things and snapping away, I can say that the Fuji Klasse W is a precision tool

We press the shutter and feel that click, all the sudden the lens move and the focus indicator lights up and we can “feel” that focus is spot on. The lens is very, very sharp, and it renders good out of focus areas.

Here are some samples from today.

Untitled-11

Perfect focus! Great detail.Screen shot 2013-11-23 at 9.34.17 PM

Untitled-76

Being able to focus at 30cm, makes me want to get close. This is at f2.8, the eye on the right is in focus and the eye on the left is out of focus.

Screen shot 2013-11-23 at 9.46.39 PM

Untitled-17

Screen shot 2013-11-23 at 9.42.08 PM

Untitled-32
Screen shot 2013-11-23 at 9.45.38 PM

Untitled-9

Screen shot 2013-11-23 at 9.21.09 PM

I always take this shot to test the auto focus of my cameras. It’s a confusing situation with the horizontal and vertical lines. The Klasse W nailed it perfectly.

Untitled-3Untitled-5Untitled-2

8 comments
  1. Derek said:

    That’s about what the one thing the gr1 is superior. Is that once the flash is off, its off for good!

  2. Derek said:

    πŸ˜€ turn the date imprint off πŸ˜€

    • I know, I was in such a hurry to it that I forgot. πŸ™‚

      • Derek said:

        I was gonna say that was fast pumping samples out already πŸ˜€

  3. Chris said:

    Love the pictures, wonderful tones. What scanner do you use?

    • Thank you very much.
      I have a Canon 9000F. It was the cheapest around a couple of years ago that scans 35 and 120mm.

      It serves me very well. I always scan my images at 2400 DPI 1:1 without any sharpening or adjustment other than selecting the right film profile (if available). The holders are not that bad too.

Leave a Reply

