Fuji Klasse W + Agfa APX 400 @ 1600 (edited)

EDIT: I was developing this film at the same time as an HP5+. Since the dev. time for the HP5, was 8 minutes and I wanted to develop this one for 15 minutes,  I opened up the tank, toke out the HP5 and put the Agfa back in for the rest of the time. Of course he was solarized in an uneven way.
He was exposed to light in the middle of the dev. process.
I forgot that “little” detail.

Gear:
Fuji Klasse W

Recipe:
Agfa APX 400@1600 ISO
Adox APH 09
1+25
15 min.
Agitated for the first 10 seconds and another 10 half time.

Yesterday I toke the Fuji Klasse with me on my way to work. I wanted to try out the snap mode. I do like the original Ricoh GR1s snap mode, it’s a great feature, and the Fuji Klasse also has a similar option.

I loaded the camera with Agfa APX 400 which is a film I have no experience with and pushed it to 1600. After browsing some foruns it was clear that pushing the Agfa was not a brilliant idea.

Some say it’s really a 200 ISO film and not the most suitable for this kind of thing. I managed to find a time for a 800 ISO push but I saw no sample images so I thought: Okay, it’s going to be a mess but how far will I be if I just double the time?

I must repeat this combination and I will do it tomorrow. The negatives came out dark. The whole film is brown but the most amazing is that parts of the negative turned into positive!?!

I got negative and positive parts on the same frame and in some situations there’s this kind of “solarization” too.

Maybe I did something wrong that I did not realize or maybe this is what Agfa APX 400 pushed to 1600 in Rodinal looks like.

Knowing my lame self I suspect that the first option is the right one.

Untitled-28Untitled-7Untitled-26Untitled-27Untitled-11Untitled-13Untitled-18 Untitled-19 Untitled-21 Untitled-24 Untitled-22 Untitled-34

10 comments
    • Yes, yes, of course it is!
      I am, without the shadow of a doubt, the stupidest person in the world.

      I was developing an HP5+ at the same time as the Agfa and I opened up the tank to take out the HP5 to fix it and put the Agfa inside again for another 7 minutes of dev. That’s the cause! It’s solarized!

      From all the things I forgot that “little” detail.

      My fault for the stupid post.

      • Derek said:

        Its not really that stupid. You are half way making black and white slides!!!

      • I was on auto-pilot and didn’t realize the mistake I was doing but… I’ve learned something new. 🙂

      • Derek said:

        Next time just make sure you got some E6 blix on hand 😀 for this mistake

      • I’m going to do it again, this time in a more controlled/still don’t know what am I doing way! 🙂

  1. Ah, the wonderful, unpredictable delights of chemistry… Excellent effect, on some of these.

  2. Totally agree with Alessandro. Even though these may have been an accident, there are some VERY good photos here. In particular, the one of the lady running.
    Experimentation is part of the fun of analogue photography, and it’s something that digital just cannot compete with.

    Great photos!

    • Thank you so much Ian. I totally agree, experimenting and having fun with the process.

      Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

