Contax 645 AF + Distagon 45mm f/2.8 + Fuji Pro 400H

Gear:
Contax 645AF
Zeiss Distagon 45mm f/2.8Fuji Pro 400H

These are prep shots for a CD cover.
The idea was to capture and work on the hand written sentence on the wall name: “Uma falaciosa noção de intimidade”, more or less something like “A fallacious feeling of intimacy”.

Let me start by sharing one of the ideas for the CD cover.
The thin white lines are fold marks and the CD itself would be located on the opposite side of the central part. The left part would fold first and the right part would fold on top.

This was done in Photoshop but the scans have no adjustment.
Notice the slightly yellow/magenta cast on the images.
My scanner always does that to the Fuji 400H.

C

The next image is the same one but using the “Auto Color” adjustment in Photoshop.
Notice that Photoshop wipes a fair amount of yellow and magenta and it adds cyan. This makes everything a bit colder and “greenish”.

C2

I was looking for a warm tone but the original scans were in fact a bit too magenta for my taste and the “Auto Color” ones a bit too greenish so… I duplicated the original layer, applied the Auto Color on the top layer and then played with the opacity. From this moment on I can work on brightness, contrast, saturation and individual groups of colors.

C3

When I send something out for professional printing such as an offset printer I always like to apply the “all mighty” High Pass filter. I find that it gives a certain edge to images which I like. On the other hand it also compensates for the lack of quality of my little home scanner.

This is how I do it:
1 – Duplicate the original layer

Untitled-1

2 – Apply the High Pass filter
(Photoshop main menu > Filter > Other > High Pass)
For this 75 MB image I’ve set the filter intensity for 2 pixels radius.

Untitled-2

3 – Apply the Vivid Light mode to that layer.

Untitled-3

4 – Set the oppacity of the layer at about 75, 80%

Untitled-4

Trust me, you will see a huge difference!
Take a look at these details.
The first one is without the High Pass.

Ex1Ex2

And here are some more shots.
Please excuse me for the confusing post.

01 Untitled-10 Untitled-14 Untitled-19 Untitled-20 Untitled-21 Untitled-24 Untitled-25 Untitled-40

2 comments
  1. Great images. I’m an incredibly weak user of photo editing software. I’m impressed by your work both in the original composition and exposure and in the editing.

    • Thank you very, very much.
      When dealing with offset printing, at least here in Lisbon, I must be careful because most printers will easily slide to magenta or to cyan. Many times I adjust the images in a slightly “wrong” way because I know how they will come out of the printing process.

      That’s one of the beauty parts of the process. Knowing what printer will do the job and adjust the image accordingly.

      Photoshop is an amazing tool, and at another, level so is Lightroom but what makes the whole difference is being able to work with layers and masks… I could go on forever… 🙂

      Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

