From Saul Leiter to Trent Parke to Matt Stuart

Saul Leiter died on the 29th of last November.
He was a master using the urban landscape as a whole to compose his images. Shapes and colors, wide scenes and little details, Saul did it all and did it like no other and I believe that makes him stand apart of a huge majority of “street photographers”.

Okay, there are books written about the man, it’s not going to be a lame amateur with bad English skills to add anything of value to the memory of this great photographer.

I just want to say that… sometimes I feel intoxicated with the amount of street photographers, intoxicated with more or less indistinct images, advices about the best way to “work on the streets”, legal rights, the perfect camera, etc, etc… but when it comes to images, I feel it’s harder and harder to see something really new and inspiring. Saul Leiter was always new and always inspiring.

I will add the name of two of the most surprising photographers I came across in a long time: Trent Parke, author of breath taking, black and white urban images and Matt Stuart which is the most funny and clever guy walking the streets with a camera in hand.

Here are some, I hope, inspirational images.

Saul Leiter

Saul Leiter

Saul Leiter

Saul Leiter

Saul Leiter

Saul Leiter

Saul Leiter

Saul Leiter

 

Trent Parke

Trent Parke

Trent Parke

Trent Parke

Trent Parke

Trent Parke

Trent Parke

Trent Parke

 

Matt Stuart

Matt Stuart

Matt Stuart

Matt Stuart

Matt Stuart

Matt Stuart

Matt Stuart

Matt Stuart

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 comments
  1. Mark said:

    Worryingly I’ve not heard of any of these. Fantastic images, thanks for sharing I’ll definitely look up their work.

    • Thank YOU Mark.
      Saul is an epic photographer, pure class, attention to composition, luxurious colors. He deserves his place in history. Trent Parke is great in his hard use of light and contrast. I love the sense of humor of Matt Stuart. Every single image has something… unique. We don’t see it at first but it’s always there.

  2. David said:

    I completely agree with you about Leiter. He used color as a compositional element to remarkable effect. Considering how slow the film was that he was using, his work is that much more technically impressive. I have one volume of his photographs, and it always takes my breath away.

    • Inspirational indeed. Luxurious yellow and strong reds… In a very personal opinion the “streets” and the “city” itself are as important as the people he captures. He does not try to “separate” people from their surroundings, very much the opposite. The urban landscape as a perfect scenario.

  3. Steve Barnes said:

    Saul Leiter was a fantastic photographer…
    Matt Stuart is one of my favourites; his timing is sublime and I love his subtle humour…

  4. I recently learned of Saul Leiter–and I agree about his brilliance.

    I had not heard of Parke or Stuart. Thanks for introducing me to them.

Leave a Reply

