New baby

Welcome my dear, I will call you… Lucy.

Untitled-1

37 comments
  1. Derek said:

    I hear good things about them from my friends.

    • Never had one in my hands. Not the OM2 or the OM1.
      I hear they are small with big viewfinders and let me tell you Derek, after all this time, a 35mm SLR camera still holds a special charm.

      My only demand for a 35mm camera… aperture priority. πŸ™‚

      • Derek said:

        No kidding there. How much I dislike shutter speed priority only cameras…

      • Really? Why?
        I agree that it is very nice to have full control but I use aperture priority all the time.

      • Derek said:

        I am agreeing with you. Aperture priority is the only sensible way to go πŸ˜€

      • Sorry, sorry, I was lost in translation for a while πŸ™‚

      • Derek said:

        No need to. On that note. I love using konica lens and hate their bodies. And that’s one of the reason.

      • I think that aperture priority speeds things up a little. I mean… we are not in this for the speed and manual focusing is great but I’m concerned, 99,9% of times, about aperture and I just check the speed to see if it is too slow.

        That’s one of the things I like about the coupled rings on the Hasselblad. You pick an aperture/speed combination and the camera (or the leans, in the Hasselblad) makes all the math πŸ™‚

      • Derek said:

        You are I are same kind. I loved my EV coupled rolleiflex (when it worked) . Only other thing is ev coupled is my retina but that version of the coupling method is slightly clumsier. And I am surprised you like your AE 1 since its shutter priority. I have one of those laying around here, never shot it. Only got it because its a deal that I can’t refused (sounded like how i got 85% of my cameras)

      • It is not the easiest camera to use.
        My mind is set for the aperture ring but there’s one good thing about the AE 1. The speed ring protrudes in a nice way and it has a good texture. It’s great for using the thumb but I rather rotate an aperture ring.

        Ahahahah damn those deals we can’t resist. It’s a global conspiracy. πŸ™‚

      • Derek said:

        I figure If i am not going to use it, I am going to give it away one day when I need more room πŸ˜€

        You need a Minolta SRT or X700.

      • I will have the change to try out a Contax 167 with the 50/1.7 lens… I have a soft spot for Contax cameras.

      • Derek said:

        Old contax I do. Newer ones are just cosina.

  2. Mark said:

    Very cool. I just got a new toy, a Nikon FE and a 50mm Pancake lens to go with it. Putting a film through it at the moment but how to post some images on my blog soon.

    • Oh I love the FE! I have one too and it’s my camera for the Saturdays πŸ™‚

      • Mark said:

        I’ve seen some of your posts about the FE. I also have an original F which is why I went for this one. Been impressed so far. Question is though, do you have a different one for each day? πŸ˜‰

      • Ahahah “touchΓ©” good sir!

        Yes I do Mark and the sad thing is… I keep on coming up with excuses to get a new one πŸ™‚

        A had a Leica D-Lux 3 many years ago. It was my only camera. I toke about a zillion shots with it.
        I got fed up of getting home, downloading the images and edit them because that’s what I do in my day job! I thought I needed something better. A better camera, so I made a mistake, I got a Leica X1. Hated it and hated every digital camera I tried.

        I sold the X1 and got a 6×6 pinhole camera which I still have. From that moment on… I realized that the problem was not the camera, the problem was the medium itself. Getting back to film was one of the best decisions in my life.

        None of my cameras ever made me a better photographer but I love those beautiful design objects and they motivate me to use them… and I do. πŸ™‚

        Edit: When I say “hated digital cameras” I mean, for me, for my hobby. I use digital cameras every day and they are brilliant tools of course.

      • Mark said:

        I keep coming up with excuses too. I’m sure you can never have enough! πŸ™‚ I have a real mix of film and digital cameras and it depends on what I feel like using. I do love using my D90 with a 35mm lens and my Fuji x10 p&s but there is something Special about film photography.

      • Do you want to know my latest passion?
        A digital compact Ricoh camera… πŸ™‚

      • Mark said:

        Which version? I have the first grd and it’s great, especially black and white joeys.

      • Ops, sorry for the late answer Mark. I’ve been looking for model 3. The newer one has a great sensor and it delivers excellent images but… it’s so expensive. On the other hand I think that the smaller sensor cameras like the other models have a very particular charm.

      • Mark said:

        Don’t worry. I really love my Ricoh it produces really nice black and whites, probably the newest to film I’ve seen from a digital camera. Colours not so great but I never use it that. There’s a number of images on my blog taken with the grd, be interested to know what you think. My favourites are the one of my friends in the shelter and the kids playing on the beach (it was a very overcast day but they didn’t care!).

      • Mark, I did it. After two days of a crazy search I got a GRD3 from Italy πŸ™‚
        Now I’m curious, going to check your images.

      • Mark said:

        Excellent, enjoy your new camera.

      • Mark said:

        Sorry that should say jpeg!

  3. David said:

    Oh dear. If I named my cameras I’d feel like a serial killer. “Oh, yes, Mark. I remember him well. And then there was Amy…”

  4. jeremy north said:

    You’ll love shooting with this. It is a very smooth operator. Then you must try a Nikon F2 & a Canon F1. All that mechanical goodness.

    • A friend is sending me a Canon F1 and an AE-1 but I’ve never held an F2.

      One thing is for sure Jeremy I must try out a Contax SLR.
      I loved the big N1 but mine had some serious front focus issues but I never had a manual focus one.

  5. Steve Barnes said:

    Hello, Lucy! You won’t get a much better SLR than the OM2n!

  6. My favourite camera – small and easy to handle. I enjoyed it even more than the OM4 that I bought to replace it.

  7. Tramaste-me agora. Eu sempre lhe chamei de Alzira!
    Segue amanhΓ£ pela manhΓ£! πŸ™‚

    um abraço.

  8. And if you don’t use flash, you can take the whole hotshoe off the top of the prism leaving Lucy with a one-of-a-kind sleek retro look and feel… Excellent, tiny, reliable, infallible camera.

    • Alessandro, that is an awesome tip! I almost never use flash and I will take the hotshoe out making it a simpler camera. Thank you my friend.

Leave a Reply

