Haute Horlogerie (an off post)

I design a magazine about Swiss watches. I also design catalogs, magazine adds and every kind of graphic material that comes out of our office.

My boss often asks me to take specific shots of a detail of a certain watch. Many times the brands send us mind blowing huge perfect images of the watches but, we always like to provide detailed information and images to our readers, not only the commercial “pack shot” of the watch.

Here’s an example.

1173874_10151646557948528_1489199533_n

 

This is how the details are used on the magazine. Along with the text we try to provide as much information as possible. After all we are talking about wrist watches that cost from 5000 USD up to 2 million USD.

Screen shot 2013-12-10 at 10.22.41 PM

Screen shot 2013-12-10 at 10.16.49 PM

On every issue we include a photo session that features the watches we think are worth the highlight. We hire a professional photographer to do that. He has been working for us for a long time and it’s always a please going to his studio and to watch him work.

I represent the “client” on those occasions but we are all friends and I try to keep my mouth shout, to get out of the way and to learn as much as I can. Going to the studio is like having the day off while working.

Here are some back stage shots of what we did for our Christmas issue.
The camera is a Sinar P3.

I can’t help feeling how fortunate I am in my professional life. Even if I’m just watching others working I always learn something new.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Jaeger-LeCoultre Duométre à Spherotourbillon.
Amazing, amazing watch.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

A. Lange & Söhne Zeitwerk, a German manufacture which is, along with Jaeger-LeCoultre, the best in the business.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Setting up the lights.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREExif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREExif_JPEG_PICTURE

8 comments
  1. iamamro said:

    Wonderful! That’s a great job.

    • Thank you very much. I’m very fortunate being able to explore so many things I like and getting paid to do it. 🙂

      • iamamro said:

        You do it all so well. Well deserved, sir!

      • Bowing my friend. Thank you.

  2. David said:

    I used to direct creative on the photo shoots for a premium chocolate brand and loved the days in the studio as well. And I worked recently with a major luxury timepiece retailer as well, so I’m very familiar with the manufacturer-provided “soldier shots” you mentioned. If I recall correctly, they’re a composite of 15 different shots, each with a slightly different plane of focus. They look wonderful, but too perfect.

    • That’s just amazing David!
      Thank you for sharing.

      PS: Soldier, soldad… they mean hard work in any language 🙂

Leave a Reply

