Things move and I move with them.

I have an obsessive/compulsive behavior towards photography which is: I have to take pictures every day!

Every single day with few exceptions, I develop a film and scan the film of the day before. Every single day I take a camera with me and I use it.

On the boat, on the subway or walking to work, on my lunch break.

It’s hard to explain but… taking pictures remind me of who I am and what I am. Like most people I have a 9 to 5 kind of job, I’m a father, I’m also a son and a brother, I have responsibilities more important than photography.

I try to be a better father everyday, a better son, a better brother a better graphic designer… but when I’m walking on my way to work, or taking the subway, or getting up at 4 am to take pictures of dead seagulls on the beach, or taking pictures of a beautiful woman… I’m none of that and I’m also all of that.

It’s me, my selfish me playing around in this little space between my ears. Every time I press the shutter and every in between makes sense.

It’s not an escape it’s just another way of belonging.

(Please excuse the rough English)

Ricoh GR1s

Untitled-15

Untitled-4

Untitled-1

Untitled-40

Untitled-9

Untitled-11

Untitled-30

6 comments
  1. Nice shots. I am an occasional obsessive compulsive, but your site and those like it is a great motivation to get out and be more compulsive.

  2. Son of Sharecroppers said:

    Great work. I never trust myself to post fully blurry images. But these show how to go about it the right way.

    • You are much too kind my friend. These are just… copies, like everything I do. I imitate, I always try to be like this photographer or that photographer. When posting recipes examples I try to post, at least, focused images but this time I felt like imitating someone again.

      When I use the Ricoh I use it with a wrist strap. I have my arm along my body and I click from that position, like a silly Daido Moriyama. He does that a lot and he also says that he likes the movement of the city and his own movements while walking the streets.

      I don’t know if you know this video or if you like his style but here it is:

Leave a Reply

