Canon F1 + Kentmere 400

I went away for a couple of days with my son. We went to the mountains again. Though the weather was great for hanging out up there, it was terrible for photography.

The sky was clear and the Sun light reflected on the snow was just too strong for any decent picture taking.

However, from time to time, the clouds would cover up the Sun making the landscape softer looking and I’ve managed to put the Canon F1 to the test.

I loaded the Canon with some Kentmere 400 but it was almost impossible to use it at 400 ISO despite the 1/2000 top speed of the F1.

I mean almost impossible because even when the cloulds covered up the Sun, parts of the landscape were more or less under a soft shade but other parts were still so bright that the meter went off the roof.

So… the ideal solution was to pull down the film to ISO 200 giving me a bit more latitude to work with. I could always (which I did) develop it at box speed for a little more contrast and grain.

Gear:
Canon F1
Canon FD 50mm/f1.8

Recipe:
Kentmere 400 @ 200 ISO
Rollei RHS DC
1+7
7 min

Untitled-16 Untitled-18 Untitled-22 Untitled-28 Untitled-41

8 comments
    • Thank you very much.
      These are the ones that came out right. I didn’t get a high success rate on this film.
      I’m still learning to use the meter on the F1.

  1. Steven Lawrence said:

    you created a particular and unique look improvising. that is what photography is all about. I only apply success rate to my relationships and even then only on a need to know basis. a great mood was captured.

    • Thank you so much Steve.
      Well I have to admit that in therms of relationships my success rate is much higher than my photography.
      I admit I buy pleasure from my ladies and keep them locked in my house. Some are Japanese, some are German and even a Swedish beauty. The problem is that 99% of the time I don’t have a clue about what to do with such a harem! 🙂

  2. alex k said:

    Mysteries lurking in the distance in the first one. Nice.

    • Thank you my friend, that’s the highest point in Portugal. 2800 meters above sea level. It’s a small mountain but it presents some interesting challenges for photography.

  3. Foto said:

    Hello cook, first of all thank you for all the sharing, you have an amazing website with a lot of useful information.

    I’m using the Rollei RHS DC developer and I just got new Agfa APX 100 films that I heard it’s the same as the Kentmere films that you are using.

    I cannot find development times anywhere, how did you got to your development times?

    Thank you and I wish you great photos with very little clicks 🙂

Leave a Reply

