Hallelujah

Many of you are familiar with the song “Hallelujah”, I believe.
I love it, but I like Rufus Wainwright’s version over Leonard Cohen’s or Jeff Buckley’s.

Imagine that the partiture of the song is, let’s say, reality.
A landscape, a model, a scene on the street, whatever…

Rufus Wainwright uses a certain tool to interpret that reality. He uses a piano.
Jeff Buckley expresses himself better using another kind of tool, a guitar.

The musical notes are the same, the poem is the same, but two immediate things tell one apart from the other.
The tool used to play it and, of course, the guy using that tool.

Each tool has it’s own specific technical features.
That allows a whole different kind of approach to the song and, consequently, the results show those differences.

However, in essence, the purpose of any tool is the same, to make a sound when played.

The difference is in the player’s hands.

Rufus plays it gently like warm velvet, Jeff plays it raw.

Both are amazing players using their tool of choice and it is the way they use it that makes the difference from any other person using the same tool. It is called talent.

So, the bottom line is…?

Denying the importance of the tool in the act of creation/interpretation makes no sense.

Music is not just music as photography is not just photography.
It is the variety of tools played by a variety of players that makes both music and photography the passionate forms of expression that we all agree they are.

Putting all Photography in the same bag and label it “All of this can be done regardless of the tool” is limiting photography to a specific point of view.

Don’t you agree that macro photography is a valid way of exploring photography?
Landscape photography, Sports photography, photo journalism, fine art (whatever it is), street photography…

Don’t you agree that using, let’s say, a Lomo Fish Eye it would be a bit hard to make macro photography?
I bet it would be as hard as using a big format camera to shoot a sports event.
Like playing Hallelujah on drums.

I don’t ever deny the importance of my tools. I love them, I get angry with them, I take care of them. I like to use them and to see the differences between them.

Every single day I go out and face a million songs in front of me.
The question is, am I skilled enough to play them?

My tools are there to remind me, over and over, that I’m not but without them I would never know.

So, love them, hate them or ignore them, we need tools but It is our use of them that makes the difference.

—–

Blá, blá, blá
I’m happy that my little CL is finally adjusted. The rangefinder is now aligned and the meter is calibrated for the new batteries.
I’m trusting it more and more and I’ll be using it tomorrow on a work assignment.

It’s a charming little camera with a working meter and a pretty good lens. My lens, however, needs an “ink refill” as some numbers are almost invisible.

R0020060

Perfect focus.

Perfect focus.

Untitled-10

01 (4)

Back light situation.

Untitled-2

01 (1)

01 (6)

01

Untitled-3

01 (3)

01 (5)

01 (2)

01 (7)

Untitled-16

2 comments
  1. dehk said:

    I am glad your “minolta” is alive!!! :p

    • How dare you? How dare you sir? 😉
      Not that you mention it, I have the opportunity of trading my CL for a proper Minolta CLE. The CLE has aperture priority which is something that I like.

Leave a Reply

