Mary

Hello guys.

Here I am, little by little. Surgery went well and I’ve been slowly recovering at my parent’s house. Love, mommy and daddy and chicken soup can work wonders so… I’ll be up and running very shortly.

The weekend before surgery I challenged Mary for a little photo shoot on the boat and the truth is we were so very lucky.

It was a beautiful morning. Heavy rain, very windy and although the sky was not that dark, the ambiance was charming enough for some nice pictures.

I created a Pinterest board as inspiration and shared it with Mary so we could replicate some ideas. It was also an opportunity to try out my Nikon FA for the first time.

Let me state this in a very clear way.
None of these pictures is great. They are all copies from others pictures on my Mary Pinterest board.

All the things that went well I owe them to Mary, to the beautiful weather and to that smooth shooter, the Nikon FA.

What I mean is… I love these images but not because they are amazing, or great, or whatever, but because Mary is in them.

As always I ended up with the easy part of the job by just having to press the shutter.

There’s no artistic motivation behind my images. As always the real motivation was to try a new camera and, of course, to spend a few hours with a dear friend, which I don’t see, or shoot, as often as I want.

Thank you so much Mary.

Gear:
Nikon FA
Ilford HP5+ @ 800 ISO
Nikkor 35mm/f2.8

Recipe:
Adox APH 09
1+25
9 min

 

Untitled-24

 

Untitled-31

 

Untitled-27

 

Untitled-11-2

 

Untitled-15

21 comments
  1. Wonderful news that your surgery went well and wishing you a speedy recovery. BTW, your images of Mary are spectacular. Love each & every one of them. I especially like the last one – fabulous mood, her expression & the reflection in the window.

    • Thank you so much Mary.
      As my mother reminded me a couple of weeks ago “son, you are not getting any younger” 🙂

      Mary is… Power charged and I love her huge eyes.

  2. Steven Lawrence said:

    You and Mary have provided some great imagery here. I do not know what art is but these images convey a mood that is provokes contemplation.

  3. dehk said:

    Not sure if I am excited to see you blog or your good news about feeling better . Hmmmmmmmmm . Equally important ! Get well and get photographing soon , maybe start with photographing those around you during recovery .

    • 🙂
      Mom and dad… those are the ones… and the hardest to capture…

      Let me tell you D… it’s something I must do. I must, I don’t know, I must put my bloody heart on the open and portrait my parents the way I love them. I want to tell them I love them through my pictures.

      Not a small task… or is it?

      • dehk said:

        You can do it!!

    • That’s very kind Alessandro and it makes me feel proud. Thank you my friend.

  4. Bárbara Morais said:

    Fantásticas, como sempre, Paulo!
    Votos de melhoras rápidas para ti!

  5. anette said:

    It’s wonderful to hear that you’re getting better! And thank you for this expressive series! Every single shot is telling so much, especially the last three are very powerful.

    • Thank you so much, I’m really feeling more energetic. Autumn is coming and I do love that kind of weather to take some shots. Things are more “textural”.

  6. jakubjira said:

    The last one is perfect… 🙂

    • Thank you my friend, I want to print it in the darkroom as a gift to Mary.

  7. David said:

    Glad you’re on the mend and doing stuff you enjoy. Great photos – all the caveats are unnecessary.

  8. iamamro said:

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better. Hurrah for parental love.

    A lovely portrait of a beautiful lady.

    • Hurrah indeed… My shelter, my corner stone, my living examples of how to become better an better everyday.

  9. Chris said:

    Hey Cooking Film,

    Great photos. Love the tone. Last time I tried HP5+ and Rodinal (about ten years ago) it was awful. After seeing your great photos I decided to develop of roll of 120 HP5+ in Rodinal for a laugh. Used a modified version of my semi-stand development and the results were great (can’t say that about the actual pictures).

    I think your pictures are excellent, I enjoy browsing them. Keep up the good work.

    More importantly, I hope you are on the mend and return to good health really soon.

    My (British) in-laws now live in Portugal (and that is another reason I follow your blog) actually about two or so hours from you (I think).

    It’s really great you are shooting all that film. Have you ever tried stand development with Rodinal? If not, give it a go!

    All the very best

    Chris.

    • What a great and kind comment Chris!
      Thank you so much and I most welcome your “now Portuguese” part of the family. 🙂

      I actually live in Almada, which is about 10 minutes away from Lisbon.

      Chris, I was never a big fan of Rodinal to be honest, but I’ve seen amazing work and it is a classic and an iconic product.
      I’ve tried the original Rodinal, the Agfa Rodinal, the Agfa R09 One Shot and I finally discovered the Adox APH 09.

      I don’t know if it’s me or the developer but I find the Adox wonderful. From all the Rodinal “sons” it’s the one I like the best.

      My dear friend Jan Caspary wrote an article about Rodinal for Cooking Film a while ago, take a look.

      https://cookingfilm.wordpress.com/2013/06/28/rodinal-by-jan-caspary/

      I’ve tried stand development once or twice but I must give it another try.

      Thank you again my friend.

Leave a Reply

