Death in Venice (not a real death and not really in Venice)

05

For the past 5, 6 months I’ve been buried in work.

The pressure has been too intense and, for the very first time in my life, I felt I was on the verge of something bad, both physically and emotionally.

I sing. From the moment I arrive at work, to the moment I leave, I sing all day long. I usually make up my own lyrics mainly about a sexy country girl who meets a handsome city man but… for the last 6 months, a negative attitude and bad humor have replaced singing.

Sheer physical and emotional exhaustion.

I wake up in the morning, take a pill to keep my blood pressure under control and off I go… but I’ve reached the limit. My health was deteriorating and the work I had in hands didn’t allow any breading space.

On the other hand having also to cut down on coffee and cigarettes just added an extra layer of stress.

Well… enough with the bad stuff. I’m now enjoying my second week off and, last Wednesday, I’ve experienced the most perfect afternoon I could wish for.

Late afternoon, I had just arrived to the beach and all of the sudden a thick, heavy fog came down from the cliffs right behind the beach, turning a golden late afternoon into this grey, cloudy and cold Ocean view.

A couple looking at the magnificent mist coming from the cliffs.

A couple looking at the magnificent mist coming from the cliffs.

The fishermen were still deciding if it was worthwhile going to the sea one more time.

The fishermen were still deciding if it was worthwhile going to the sea one more time.

The beach got deserted very fast which was great!

My son and his friend were enjoying the Ocean and I was absolutely happy for having the perfect weather, the perfect situation and the perfect camera with me. Usually I don’t take pictures during the Summer, specially on the Beach but, that day, the whole scenario was visually stimulating.

06

My son and his friend not caring about the weather, the water was fine.

Seagulls eating the crabs left on the beach from previous fisheries.

Seagulls eating the crabs left on the beach from previous fisheries.

Getting ready to go out to sea.

Getting ready to go out to sea.

One end of the fishing net is attached to this tractor which will pull it later.

One end of the fishing net is attached to this tractor which will pull it later.

The boat returning to land bringing the other end of the fishing net.

The boat returning to land bringing the other end of the fishing net.

I was saving my last frames to capture the opening of the net and the fish but… my sweet baby, my little princess, the Ricoh GR1s died. Had a battery on me, changed it on the spot but… she died.

I love my cameras. Many came and went while others were love at first feel.

This was the last shot from my baby.

08

Recipe:
Ricoh GR1s
Ilford HP5+
Ilfosol 3
1+14
12 minutes

Please forgive my rusty English.

5 comments
  1. These are wonderful my kind of shots as a self confessed beach hugger there’s nothing I like better than doing what you did, superb post.

  2. I am sorry your Baby died. I have had a few deaths in that department most notably my Canonet QL17 GIII. They are replaceable unlike real babies.

    You must look after your health above all things. It’s not worth damaging your health. Give up smoking! I haven’t heard anyone dying of Coffee. Galao is amazing. Well, all Portuguese coffee is amazing and much better that the rubbish in the UK.

    Very nice set of pictures. Love the moodiness. The last one, the seagulls eating crabs and your son and friend in the Sea are my favourite.

    Please keep cooking film, I enjoy reading your posts and I share a lot of your sentiments. I hope it doesn’t sound patronising, but your English is good.

    Very Best Wishes!

  3. Everyone needs a timeout sometimes, for me it´s travelling or just take a walk with my camera. Nice shoots, I love those with the seagulls.
    Greets Peter

Leave a Reply

